FREE MOBI ☆ DOC Slider By Pete Hautman 9780763690700

MOBI Slider By Pete Hautman

FREE MOBI ☆ DOC Slider By Pete Hautman 9780763690700 ß [Reading] ➿ Slider ➶ Pete Hautman – Gwairsoft.co.uk Competitive eating vies with family expectations in a funny heartfelt novel for middle grade readers by National Book Award winner Pete HautmanDavid can eat an entire sixteen inch pepperoni pizza in Competitive eating vies with family expectations in a funny heartfelt novel for middle grade readers by National Book Award winner Pete HautmanDavid can eat an entire sixteen inch pepperoni pizza in four minutes and thirty six seconds Not bad But he knows he can do better In fact he'll have to do better he's going to compete in the Super Pi ARC graciously provided by publisher upon reuestDavid is interested in competitive eating he can eat a pizza pretty uickly and he's watched a lot of competitions and thinks he could probably do pretty well When he accidentally bids 2000 on a half hot dog and his bid wins he turns to several local competitive eating events to try to earn back the money before his mother sees the charge on her account He wins a White Castle type challenge but only receives a gift card as a prize This is somewhat helpful as he trains for the Super Pigorino Bowl at the local pizzeria but he needs the money that winning the competition at the Iowa State Fair will provide He embarks on a training regimen that involves insane amounts of food including entire heads of cabbage for building capacity In the meantime he parents aren't thrilled It's not the academic success that David's older sister Bridgette has in college and he doesn't reuire the care that his younger brother Mal does If his mother labeled things which she doesn't Mal would be on the serious end of the autism spectrum David is very good at caring for Mal so when David's parents think he needs of a summer job than choking down pizzas they have him tend Mal while the his mother teaches a class David makes some headway with Mal's increased socialization Mal travels further with fewer meltdowns when he is wearing sunglasses and David also thinks critically about the charateristics that make food appealing to Mal and gets him to add several new things to his diet Eventually David's parents find out about the credit card bill so the eating competition becomes even important Will David be able to use his skills as well as his smarts to figure a way out of his financial and personal crisesNot only was David a particularly appealing character and his role in his family realistically drawn but his sidekicks Cyn and HeyMan were interesting as well I liked the idea that the three of them had been friends but now Cyn whom David finds a bit appealing and HeyMan are spending time together but aren't sure if they are ready to be boyfriendgirlfriend A lot of intriguing relationships going on in this book and they are not the same old ones typical to middle grade literature I've also never seen a novel about competitive eating It's not a topic that interests me personally but I can see it being appealing to ever hungry middle school boys who are enthralled by the idea eating fifty slices of pizza or several dozen sliders The research into training strategies famous eaters and different types of competitions is well done and the creation of a couple of less than honest competitors is clever I especially liked how David got the better of The Gurge on than one occasionOf course the most brilliant thing about this book is the way that it takes a very serious facet of David's life his brother Mal and frames the relationship the two have with the amusement of competitive eating David is stoic in the way that many children who have siblings with issues can be and he is kind and helpful to his brother while being a tiny bit annoyed but he does feel a lot of pressure to be less of a problem to his parents because of the issues his brother faces Readers will pick up this book because of the premise and the appealing cover art work and learn some important life lessons in a way that slips down as easily as pizza crusts dipped in water For readers who like Jordan Sonnenblick John David Anderson and Gordon Korman and other humorous titles that also include messages of social importance Hautman's Slider is two delicious and nutritious all beef patties of humor on a sesame seed bun of humanity

KINDLE ↠ Slider By Pete Hautman á Pete Hautman

Ls would be labeled autistic but they don't so they just label him Mal And don't even get started on the new weirdness going on between his two best friends Cyn and HeyMan Master talent Pete Hautman has cooked up a rich narrative shot through with eual parts humor and tenderness and the result is a middle grade novel too delicious to put do I never knew reading about eating contests could be so fun

Pete Hautman á Slider By Pete Hautman EBOOK

Slider By Pete HautmGorino Bowl the world's greatest pizza eating contest and he has to win it because he borrowed his mom's credit card and accidentally spent on it So he really needs that prize money Like yesterday As if training to be a competitive eater weren't enough he's also got to keep an eye on his little brother Mal who if the family believed in labe Just a good book so funny I laughed out loud David is the middle child of the family and thinks he is only good at competitive eatinghe uses his mother's credit card to buy a fake half hot dog thinking it is a relic from the Nathan's Hot Dog Eating championship A mistake finds him owing his mother 2000 The only way David sees to pay her back is by winning a pizza eating contest David trains and watches his younger brother who is autistic Along the way he learns that he is good at many things Heartwarming but funny enough for some high school students One of the rare YA novels that is devoid of sex violence crime drugs abuse etc